Odisha Election Results Live Updates: Counting of votes to begin at 8am

Odisha Election Results Live Updates: Counting of votes to begin at 8am


THE TIMES OF INDIA | May 23, 2019, 07:04:08 IST


When the fate of 174 LS and 1,127 assembly candidates will be decided. The big political debate occupied people’s mind in Odisha is whether the Chief Minister is the Chief Minister of the fifth term, as has been predicted by various agencies, or BJP will power out to exit polls out of poll. Stay with TOY for all live updates

BJP leaders are of the view that the party will replace the BJD in the state.“The writing on the wall is clear.” Apart from contributing substantial number of MPs from the state to strengthen Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s hands, the BJP will form the government in the state and a new Odisha of its promise towards work, “state BJP President Basanta Panda

The Naveen-led party has been publically said it will open to support any political formation which fulfills Odisha’s legal demands for special category status.

Though there is no official confirmation, both NDA and UPA are believed to have reached out to Naveen seeking his support in case of hung parliament.

BJP’s failure to dislodge Naveen in the state will also prove wrong PM Modi’s prediction in March of a Tripura-like sweep by BJP in Odisha assembly

While Naveen is predicted to return to power, reduced strength of BJD in the Lok Sabha may affect its bargaining powers with the Center for the purpose of playing a vital role in government formation in New Delhi.In the 2014 elections, BJD won 20 of the 21 Lok Sabha seats.But according to exit polls, BJD is expected to win a maximum of 12 seats this time.

Elections to the 21 Lok Sabha seats and 146 out of the 147 assembly seats in Odisha were held in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

Exit poll projections for Odisha has given both BJD and BJP something to cheer about thanks to a split verdict147-member assembly in the fifth consecutive term in less than two exit polls predict that BJD will get a clear majority and retain power for at least three other exit polls, BJP is giving BJD more state assembly than BJD.A fourth poll is giving BJP just a Lok Sabha seat less than BJD

The exit poll, which predicted a split verdict in the state with BJP gaining a number of Lok Sabha seats and the BJD retaining its hold on the assembly, has been the Odisha’s high-profile contestants for hope and disappointment.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is seeking re-election for fifth term in a row.He is in power in Odisha since 2000.

174 candidates in fray for Lok Sabha and 1127 for the state assembly

Total seats: LS: 21, Assembly: 146 (poll was not held in one of Odisha’s total 147 seats)

The Odisha assembly has gone on polling with Lok Sabha.


  1. … [Trackback]

    […] Here you will find 69606 more Info to that Topic: worldnewsnetwork.co.in/odisha-election-results-live-updates-counting-of-votes-to-begin-at-8am/ […]

  2. … [Trackback]

    […] Info to that Topic: worldnewsnetwork.co.in/odisha-election-results-live-updates-counting-of-votes-to-begin-at-8am/ […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here