Congress to contest all 80 seats in UP for 2019 Lok Sabha polls – Times of India

Congress to contest all 80 seats in UP for 2019 Lok Sabha polls – Times of India

New Delhi: A day after it was virtually left out of the part of an anti-BJP alliance formed by the समाजवादी पार्टी और बहुजन समाज पार्टी, the Congress on Sunday declared it will contest all 80

Lok Sabha

seats from the state

However, the grand old party of India has kept the doors of a possible alliance open saying if any secular party which is competent to fight the BJP and willing to go with it (Congress), then it will be accommodated.

Speaking to reporters here, party general secretary and UP in charge

Ghulam Nabi Azad

said, “The Congress will contest against all 80 Lok Sabha seats in

Uttar Pradesh

, and defeat the BJP. ”

Azad also expressed hope that the Congress will double its tally of seats, which it had secured in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections.

During the parliamentary elections, the Congress had won 21 seats in the politically crucial state.

To a question whether his party will not forge a coalition with any political party, Azad said, “If any political party is going to Congress with willingness, and Congress feels that it is BJP with the fight, then it definitely accommodates.”

The Congress general secretary said: “We want that Congress should have been part of the grand alliance (against the BJP) in Uttar Pradesh but if someone does not want to walk along , then nothing was done done. ”

On the post-poll alliance with the SP and BSP, Azad said that at the national level, Congress welcomes all secular regional parties.

Replying to another question on SP-BSP alliance, Azad said, “The Congress workers are not disappointed on being left out of the alliance.In contrast, they say that the party has 25 Lok Sabha seats , but now they will be contesting on all the 80 Lok Sabha seats of the state. ”

On the possibility of an alliance with the Rashtriya Lok Dal, Azad said that he will not like to talk on the issue.

While announcing the SP-BSP alliance on Saturday, BSP chief Mayawati had said that he will not contest from Amethi (currently held by party chief Rahul Gandhi) and Rae Bareli (Sonia Gandhi’s by Sonia Gandhi) seats.


  1. … [Trackback]

    […] Read More Information here to that Topic: […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here